Dear Ampersand Customer,

You're invited to join Hanif Abdurraqib at Writers & Books on April 15! Click here to learn more.

The Good Sister: A Novel (Hardcover)

The Good Sister: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
Usually Ships in 3-7 Days

April 2021 Indie Next List


“Having a title like The Good Sister might lead a reader to assume there is also a bad sister. Here we meet twin sisters Rose and Fern, whose mother was a sociopath. That upbringing affected Fern the most, so Rose cared for her sister during most of their childhood. Now adult women, Fern begins to come out of her shell and experience life on her own; she likes the freedom and the adventures. But Rose does not. When Fern makes a huge sacrifice to mollify Rose, the story grows more tense as it becomes clear who the good sister is and how bad the bad sister can be. Readers might change allegiances during the book, but no one will see the end coming! Highly recommended!”
— Nancy Simpson-Brice, Book Vault, Oskaloosa, IA

Description


Sally Hepworth, the author of The Mother-In-Law delivers a knock-out of a novel about the lies that bind two sisters in The Good Sister.

There's only been one time that Rose couldn't stop me from doing the wrong thing and that was a mistake that will haunt me for the rest of my life.

Fern Castle works in her local library. She has dinner with her twin sister Rose three nights a week. And she avoids crowds, bright lights and loud noises as much as possible. Fern has a carefully structured life and disrupting her routine can be...dangerous.

When Rose discovers that she cannot get pregnant, Fern sees her chance to pay her sister back for everything Rose has done for her. Fern can have a baby for Rose. She just needs to find a father. Simple.

Fern's mission will shake the foundations of the life she has carefully built for herself and stir up dark secrets from the past, in this quirky, rich and shocking story of what families keep hidden.

About the Author


Sally Hepworth has lived around the world, spending extended periods in Singapore, the United Kingdom and Canada. She is the author of The Secrets of Midwives, The Things We Keep, The Mother's Promise, The Family Next Door and The Mother-in-Law. Sally now lives in Melbourne with her husband, three children, and one adorable dog.

Praise For…


Praise for The Good Sister:

One of the "April Most Anticipated"
—CNN.com
One of "15 Books to Check Out this April"—E!Online
One of "The Best New Books To Read This April"—Bustle
One of the "Most Anticipated Books of 2021"Goodreads
One of "The Big Mysteries and Thrillers of 2021"—Goodreads

"Hepworth's latest further solidifies her place among the top domestic suspense authors...Fern is drawn as smart, capable, and probably on the spectrum, and she is multilayered and relatable, illustrating Hepworth's talent for page-turners with depth." Booklist

"It's a warped tale of twisted memories and skewed perceptions that will make fans of psychological thrillers say, 'Wow, I didn't see that coming.'"Library Journal

"Punchy prose helps propel the twisty plot to a creepy but satisfying conclusion. For fans of domestic dramas, this is a treat."Publishers Weekly

“Fans of Hepworth’s The Mother-in-Law will quickly be drawn into this family-based mystery surrounding twin sisters Fern and Rose.—CNN.com

If you are only going to read one book this month, it should be The Good Sister...I could not put this book down and the whole team felt the exact same way...Sally Hepworth somehow manages to have this book that is both thrilling and hopeful at the same time.” —Sarah Gelman, Amazon Books Editorial Director

Sally Hepworth's The Good Sister achieves the impossible trio of creepy, tender, and funny….Hepworth is an author poised to break out."—Business Insider

[A] compelling, assured psychological twister…The book has a wicked sting of an ending, giving its title a dark second meaning. But where The Good Sister really shines is in its convincing, fascinating portrait of Fern’s sensory-processing disorder — both its blessings and its curses.”Seattle Times

Praise for Sally Hepworth:

"A deliciously entertaining novel…This one is perfect for fans of Big Little Lies." —Good Morning America on The Mother-in-Law

“Sally Hepworth writes characters you love.” —Liane Moriarty, bestselling author of Big Little Lies

“Deliciously entertaining, packed with wit and suspense, and also delivers sharp insights about family dynamics and love.” —People magazine on The Mother-in-Law

"A masterful depiction of how much is said in the silences...a winner for fans of Liane Moriarty and Megan Abbott." —Booklist on The Mother-in-Law, starred review

"A mesmerizing domestic mystery." —Kirkus on The Mother-in-Law

"This one will keep you guessing until the very end." —Us Weekly on The Mother-in-Law



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250120953
ISBN-10: 1250120950
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication Date: April 13th, 2021
Pages: 320
Language: English